Head off to somewhere different.....Lincolnshire




Lincolnshire UK is situated on the east of England between the Humber and the Wash. Huge expanses of Its countryside and coast are still undeveloped drawing wildlife and bird watchers. The quiet roads win many friends from the increasing number of visitors eager to escape city life.

The slower pace of life attracts golfers, walkers and cyclists alike and It is also the perfect place for a relaxing break.


Holidays in North Lincolnshire

Lincolnshire has a deep routed connection with the Heritage of England. The capital, Lincoln dates back to Roman times over 2000 years ago whilst many of the market towns such as  Louth and Stamford still retain many fine Georgian properties from 19th century.


English Heritage, East Midlands

There is of course much more to the county than can be described just on this page so please take a tour of this website especially the photo tour and attractions pages to find out more.........

East Midlands, Lincolnshire, Lincolnshire North and North East Lincolnshire

Lincolnshire is the largest county in the East Midlands and is actually made up of 3 distinct counties, Lincolnshire, Lincolnshire North and North East Lincolnshire.

The capital of Lincolnshire is  the city of Lincoln (pop. 90,000) which isn't the largest population "city" in the county but with it's outstanding cathedral and Roman walls is certainly the most majestic. The largest populated town is Grimsby in North East Lincolnshire  which is linked with Cleethorpes and has  around 160,000 inhabitants. Other towns of note are Scunthorpe in Lincolnshire North, Boston in the south and Grantham to the west.

Lincolnshire has some delightful market towns centred around the Lincolnshire wolds such as Louth, Horncastle and Alford. Louth, Lincolnshire is known as the capital of the wolds and has many splendid Georgian houses, Inns and St. James church with the tallest church spire in England.

Other market towns include Barton and Epworth Lincolnshire north, Gainsborough Lincolnshire west and Stamford, Spalding and Sleaford in the south.


Holidays in Lincolnshire


Whilst Cleethorpes is the largest seaside town on the east coast of Lincolnshire it isn't the most famous. That accolade surely goes to Skegness, home of the very first Butlins holiday camp. With over 30 miles of golden sands stretching along the east coast it's not surprising that tourists flock to these resorts and also  Mablethorpe every summer.


Lincolnshire, Lincoln


The county of Lincolnshire was divided up until fairly recently and Lincolnshire North and North East Lincolnshire were combined to form South Humberside. The county of Humberside was unpopular with residents both south and north of the Humber and has thankfully been dissolved allowing Grimsby and Scunthorpe  citizens to proudly proclaim themselves as "Yellow Bellys" (The nickname for Lincolnshire people).

For more information on the Lincolnshire Yellow Bellies click here